{Recipe} Creamed Peas and Toast (aka Feel Better Soup)

Whenever Hubby and I were dating he would talk about this soup that his Grandmother made for them when they would get sick as children. He described it as a pea soup that you put on toast. After we were married and I had come down with something, he decided to make me some of the famous soup.

Basically it was a rue and peas. Nothing fancy but when you feel sick it’s filling and not hard to keep down. One day, my mother and I were talking about Feel Better Soup and she asked me if it was what they called Creamed Peas growing up. I, of course, wasn’t sure but told her that I would make her some the next time I saw her and she could tell me. Later that week she confirmed the fact that we were indeed having Creamed Peas (but Feel Better Soup sounds cuter!)

The only issue I had with making a basic rue is that sometimes I get it too watery, then the next time it’s too thick, but it’s never perfect. So I went to perfecting the recipe until I got it right! And I think I did! It’s much easier to pass on the recipe now too because I have exact proportions and measurements.

Now remember this is a sacred recipe. Passed down from generation to generation, simply labeled with measurements by me. Cherish this recipe.

image

Doesn’t that just look delicious!  It’s yummy even when you aren’t sick too!

image

Ingredients for the soup:
● 5 oz can of Evaporated Milk
● standard can of Sweet Peas
● 1/2 cup of flour
● 1/2 cup of water
● salt and pepper to taste

Toast requires bread and a toaster of course. I won’t go into further detail here. Make toast! 😉

image

1. Put the entire can of evaporated milk into a sauce pan. Add in 1/2 cup of flour.

2. Incorporate really well. It will seem pretty thick at this point (kind of like a paste). That’s normal.

3. Add in 1/2 cup of water. It will get pretty runny for a minute but will thicken back up quickly.

4. Drain the peas and add to the pan. Stir continually until everything is heated through.

5. Add salt and pepper to taste. If your making for someone who’s sick you may want to completely omit salt and pepper.

Serve that yummy goodness and enjoy! I like to put a little on my toast and eat it that way! Delicious!

image

Do you have your own version of Feel Better Soup?

~Hope

Leave a Reply

