Happy Mother’s Day: A Gift for our Mothers

On Sunday,  we are going to be celebrating a wonderful holiday! Mother’s Day!

Since I have become a mother myself this holiday holds a special place in my heart. I now have a better understanding of what my mother may have felt in various situations as I was growing up. I know how hard it can be to watch your babies grow up before your eyes and how joyous! I know understand the blessing of motherhood and it overwhelms me with gratitude to my own mother, as well as my mother-in-law.

But now I have a little disclaimer: if you are my mother or my mother-in-law STOP READING NOW! If you continue further you will ruin the surprise!! I love you both dearly, but PLEASE GO AWAY!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now that we have that taken care of, I have a really cute project in store to share with you. It involves distressing wood, customizing, spray paint, and the Silhouette (there are other ways to do that portion). It has been a fun project and I think you’ll enjoy it.

I think I stalled long enough. If they didn’t stop reading by now, they probably won’t but don’t say I didn’t warn you….

image

How cute did these turn out?

Supplies:
โ–  piece of wood (ours are 9×12 plaques)
โ–  spray paint: base coat and top coat (pink and black is what we used)
โ–  sanding block
โ–  letters (using Silhouette Cameo and vinyl {what we used}, pre made letters, stencils and paint, paper letters and mod podge)
โ–  mounting hardware & tools

Ready…set…create!

image

Spray with your base coat applying 2 coats.

image

Spray with your top coat.
One layer=more distressed finish
Two layers=less distressed finish
Three layers=pointless to spray with base coat ๐Ÿ™‚

image

Sand. Focus on the corners and edges. The harder you press and the coarser your sandpaper the easier it will distress with fewer strokes.

image

Prep your letters. We did ours on the Silhouette. You can easily use pre made packaged letters, stencils and paints, or cut your letters from paper and mod podge them on.

Since we used the Silhouette Cameo these instructions will follow that method. Type into the Silhouette program the script you want to appear on your plaque in the font you would like. Set to vinyl cutting settings and cut. Weed out the negative areas.

image

Apply contact paper to vinyl and remove paper backing. Lay onto plaque and adhere to plaque with pressure while removing contact paper.

image

Add hanging hardware. We used the above pictured system that we purchased at Lowes. We only had to place a bar across the back. You could also do something simply like the ridged bar hanger.

image

They are ready to gift now! Don’t forget to wrap the necessary items for hanging if like us, they’ll need more hardware to hang them.

I’m so excited with how these turned out. You can see the distressing on the plaques but for some reason the photos here don’t show it very well. But they are gorgeous!

This project can be completed in a few hours (remember you need dry time for the spray paint) or over a couple of evenings.

~Hope

Leave a Reply

