An accidental, not-so-pretty, absolutely delicious mistake!

I was trying to make the beautiful Caramel Cheesecake Apple Dip for our fifth Sunday sing and fellowship. But it didn’t go exactly like I had planned.

I started getting out ingredients and realized I didn’t have everything. Oops. I also knew I was going to have to alter the recipe because I can’t have chocolate. (Long story, short — it makes me sick) so this is the edited to fit myself and my family:

Ooey Gooey Cheesecake Apple Dip
Adapted from Half-Baked Baker

Ingredients:
2 pkgs of cream cheese, softened
3 Tbs evaporated milk
1/4 cup powdered sugar
2 Tbs caramel sauce (I used Hershey’s caramel sauce, like the kind for ice cream)
1/4 cup butterscotch chips
+
1 Tbs caramel sauce
1/4 cup butterscotch chips
(for top)

Before I give the directions, let me just say that in the future I would not layer it because it was a little wet or I wouldn’t line the bowl with Saran wrap I would just layer into the bowl.

1. Line a bowl with Saran wrap, make sure there is enough extra to wrap over the top after layering is complete.

2. Stir together cream cheese, evaporated milk, and powdered sugar.

3. Spoon half of the mixture into your bowl.

4. Drizzle caramel and butterscotch chips over mixture.

5. Spoon second half of mixture over the top.

6. Wrap the Saran wrap around the dip.

7. Refrigerate for two hours or longer.

8. When ready to serve, unfold saran wrap and flip onto serving dish. Sprinkle with toppings.

9. Serve with 2 Granny Smiths and 2 Red Delicious Apples cut into slices.

20120129-212637.jpg

20120129-212649.jpg

20120129-212657.jpg

20120129-212703.jpg

20120129-212709.jpg

20120129-212719.jpg

Leave a Reply

