Garden prep…

This week in Missouri the weather is ranging from mid-40s to mid-60s. What crazy weather!!

This crazy weather inspires me to begin gardening and the first step is to determine what I plan to grow. I stick with pretty basic stuff so we’re planning to plant green beans, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, celery, corn, cucumbers, lettuce, onions, snap peas, bell peppers, potatoes, squash, tomatoes, watermelons and pumpkins. We are also moving to a new garden plot this year.

I have never started seeds inside successfully but I have been doing my research this year and I plan to start everything from seed. I want to maximize our savings by growing from the cheapest form, seeds. So in an effort to start my seeds at the appropriate time I have a list of dates to start seeds indoors. I used my Ferry Morse Garden Helper and Almanac.com to help me determine the best dates to start.

I’m sure many of you are thinking I’m a bit crazy and possibly being a bit over-zealous here but there are five items on my crop list that need to be started in February! And I also plan to try planting an early crop of peas, carrots, lettuce, and onions if the weather stays mild.

Do any of you garden? Do you have any tips?

20120128-145459.jpg

20120128-145507.jpg

One thought on “Garden prep…

  1. How very noble of you to be starting from seed. I’ve tried, but I get too excited and start things way too early. My daughter, though, “stole” a couple of cherry tomatoes out of the fridge two years ago and planted them whole. It was the best tomato plant we’ve ever grown.

Leave a Reply

