Reading Levels…

I list all of my book reviews with the Accelerated Reader and Scholastic Book Levels, and some of you may be wondering: how are these determined?

“AR books are evaluated and assigned a reading level and corresponding points depending on the level of difficulty of the sentences and vocabulary and the length of the book.” Quoted from Parents Guide to AR Books and Tests: What is Accelerated Reader

Scholastic offers the opportunity to use four leveling systems through their website: Guided Reading, Lexile, DRA, or Grade Level Equivalent. I use the Grade Level Equivalent and that is what I share with you. They have a very informative article on their website that explains further each of these leveling systems.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s