Breaking goals down into bite size chunks…

Setting goals is so easy! Saying I want to do this, this, this, this and this, isn’t hard at all. I could make a new list everyday, but what good does that truly do me.

In this time of New Year’s Resolutions many of us have set goals that we would like to work towards this next year. One of mine is to become healthier. But the problem with the goal of becoming healthier is that it is too lofty and really isn’t a measurable goal. That’s why when setting a goal you must break it down into steps. I am doing this by using this cute printable that I found over on Buttoned Up. Lists help me to write it out and then have a place to go look each week at what my plan is and how I am doing working towards that plan. If you aren’t a list person, find something that works for you.

For my resolution of dating my husband: I have preplanned, prepaid dates for each month. That would be the break down of that goal.

For losing weight, one of my “sub-goals” is to workout for 30 minutes daily. What happens if I don’t exercise one day? I don’t beat myself up about failing, I get back up and exercise the next day!

 

The reason most people never reach their goals is that they don’t define them, learn about them, or seriously consider them as believable or achievable. Winners can tell you where they are going, what they plan to do along the way, and who will be sharing the adventure with them.

Denis Waitley

Leave a Reply

